Posted: February 21, 2023

The Penn State Student Chapter Received Two Awards from the National Wild Turkey Federation

On February 17th, 2023, the Penn State Spur Collectors collegiate chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation (NWTF) received two L.A. Dixon, Jr. Memorial Outstanding College Chapter Awards at the 47th Annual NWTF Convention in Nashville, Tennessee. The Penn State Spur Collectors is only 1 of 4 collegiate NWTF chapters in the nation.

The Penn State Spur Collectors received the first-place award for Highest Membership of Collegiate Chapters and second place for Highest Net Earnings. While celebrating the NWTF’s 50th Anniversary members enjoyed conservation seminars, calling competitions and meeting renowned members of the hunting and conservation community. Attending the Convention were (shown in photo - L-R) - Scott Kephart (Advisor), Donald Yealy, Daniel Mohney, Anne Puchalsky (Vice President), Emily Stambaugh (President), Brandy Sickles, Kaden Robinson (Treasurer) and Isaac Nulton.

Since its inception in 2012, the Penn State Spur Collectors have been working to strengthen youth involvement in conservation through its NWTF chapter. Members work to increase membership of young people in the decision-making process about our natural resources, especially the wild turkey. Some annual events include group hunting and fishing trips, range days, presentations from biologists and conservation professionals, and group trips to places like Benezette, PA to see the native elk herd.

The Spur Collectors 10th Annual NWTF banquet and conservation night will be held on April 1st, 2023, at Lambert Hall in Bellefonte, PA. Questions about the organization or support for the chapter at the banquet may be directed to Emily Stambaugh, at