Ag Alumni Society Internship Award

The Internship award, established in 1986, is a competitive awards program designed to encourage undergraduate students to participate in internships. The Society recognizes the importance of planned on-the-job learning experience to adequately prepare students for today's competitive job market. The Ag Alumni Society has distributed over $201,000 in internship awards benefiting 300 students.

The College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Society is pleased to offer a competitive awards program to encourage undergraduate students to participate in internships. The Society recognizes the importance of a planned on-the-job learning experience to adequately prepare undergraduate students for today’s competitive job market.

2018 Internship Award Recipients

  • Jared Adam, Agroecology, Lehigh Ag & Bio Services.
  • Joshua Beam, Animal Science, The Mill of Belair.
  • Jacqueline Idun, Animal Science, EMD Serono.
  • Jason Klus, Food Science, Mondelez International.
  • Sean Lauer, Wildlife & Fisheries Science, South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks.
  • Julianne Martinez, Biological Engineering, KCI Technologies, Inc.
  • Juliet Mejias, Community & Economic Development, Penn State Extension.
  • Tony Rice, Agribusiness Management, Office of the US Trade Representative.
  • Aaron Sledge Jr., Plant Science, The Plant Lady & Associates, Inc.
  • Jessica Sourbeer, Forest Resources & Ecosystems Management, Penn State Extension.
  • Jessica Yaeger, Plant Science, Midwest Groundcover.

2017 Internship Award Recipients

  • John Betts, Turfgrass Science. New York Mets.
  • Aaron Blakney, Environmental Resouces Managment. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
  • Emma Brenengen, Animal Science. Alta Genetics.
  • Olivia Healey, Community, Environment and Development. Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development.
  • Victoria Herr, Agricultural and Extension Education. Lehigh Valley Zoo.
  • Curtis Hershey, Animal Science. Archer Daniel Midland.
  • Jessica Hunter, Biological Engineering. McCrone Engineering.
  • Sarah Rassler, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences. Kreider Farms.
  • Tony Rice, Agribusiness Management. Pennsylvania Farm Bureau.
  • Gretchen Seigworth, Agribusiness Management. Dairy Farmers of America.

2016 Internship Award Recipients

  • Brittany Ayers, Biological Engineering.  Whitney Bailey Cox and Magnani.
  • Nettie Baugher, Plant Science.  Monsanto Co.
  • Amber Gabel, Animal Science.  The Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding.
  • Olivia Healey, Community, Environment and Development.  Federal Reserve System.
  • Simon Itle, Food Science.  EcoLab Inc.
  • Erika Krauss, Community, Environment and Development.  Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank.
  • Katie McLaughlin, Agricultural Science.  Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture.
  • Sharon Mummert, Food Science.  J.M. Smucker Co.
  • Gretchen Seigworth, Agribusiness Management.  Cornell Cooperative Extension Office.
  • Madeline Winn, Animal Science.  New England Aquarium.
  • Devon Carroll, Turfgrass Science.  Scranton Wilkes-Barre RailRiders.
  • Arianna De Reus, Community, Environment and Development.  International Student Management Office, National Defense University.
  • Michelle Hartzell, Animal Science.  Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital.
  • Miranda Kane, Agricultural and Extension Education.  Chester County 4-H.
  • Carly King, Animal Science.  Witmer's Feed and Grain.
  • Hannah Lux, Animal Science-Science Option.  Country View Family Farms.
  • Olivia Murphy-Sweet, Agricultural and Extension Education.  CELA Belize.
  • Elizabeth Palmer, Animal Science.  USDA Agricultural Research Services.
  • Caitlyn Pool, Animal Science.  Land O'Lakes.
  • Molly Rogus, Animal Science.  Vista Grade Farms, LLC.

2014 Internship Award Recipients

  • Alexander Bickers, Wildlife and Fisheries Science.  Lehigh Valley Zoological Association.
  • Jennifer Chelko, Toxicology.  Elanco Animal Hospital.
  • Arianna De Reus, Community, Environment and Development.  US Army War College.
  • Stacie Dixon, Animal Sciences. Philadelphia Zoo.
  • Alina Hess, Toxicology.  Glaxo Smith Kline.
  • Delainey Loedding, Environmental Resource Management. Urban Ecology Center.
  • Carolyn McDonald, Community, Environment and Development.  RTI International - USAID/Haiti LEVE Project.
  • David Smilnak, Environmental Resource Management.  PA Department of Environmental Protection.
  • Stephen Smith, Animal Science.  Maple Bottom Farm.
  • Paige Smoyer, Food Science.  Food Directions.

2013 Internship Award Recipients

  • Denise Beam, Animal Science.  The National Pork Board.
  • Steven A. Bookbinder, Food Science. Animex.
  • Monica Horan Caparosa, Food Science. StarKist Company.
  • Leah Giralico, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences.  Lehigh Valley Zoo.
  • Kylie Kiess, Agricultural Science.  T.A. Seeds.
  • Karissa Kolosky, Food Science.  The J.M. Smucker Company.
  • Jenna Moser, Agriculture Education.  CYEC - Zawadi Youth Enterprise.
  • Eleanor Polley, Community, Environment and Development.  The United States Embassy, Rome, Italy.
  • Kurt Smithgall, Biological Engineering: Natural Resources Option.  Coweeta Hydrologic Laboratory.
  • Angelo Teachout, Environmental Resource Management.  United States Environmental Protection Agency.

2012 Internship Award Recipients

  • Austin Benner, Agribusiness Management.   Tyson Foods Inc.
  • Jeanette Blank, Agricultural and Extension Education.  Penn State Extension, Youth Development.
  • John Boston, Agricultural Management.  Wenger's Feed Mill, Inc.
  • Sarah Dorward, Animal Science, Business Option.  Braum's Dairy Farm.
  • Emily Ellis, Food Science.  Campbell Soup Co.
  • Amanda Hofstaedter, Food Science.  Kraft Foods, Inc.
  • Mollie Ann McGinnis, Wildlife and Fisheries Science.  Mote Marine Laboratory.
  • Jenna Moser, Agriculture Education.  USDA-NRCS.
  • Alyssa Patt, Immunology and Infectious Disease.  PA Dept. of Health.
  • Heather Stutzman, Animal Science.  Dow AgroSciences.

2011 Internship Award Recipients

  • Chad Barclay, Forest Science. American Chestnut Foundation.
  • Laura Boone, Food Science. Lancaster Fine Foods.
  • Lauren Diebel, Environmental Resource Management. Department of Environmental Protection.
  • Caroline Gimmillaro, Community, Environment and Development. Zawadi Fund International.
  • Jenna Hicks, Landscape Contracting. Longwood Gardens.
  • Nate Hinterberger, Biological Engineering. Rich Products Corporation.
  • Sara Martucci, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences. Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium.
  • Lauren Taneyhill, Community, Environment and Development. National Wildlife Federation.
  • Philip Wise, Agricultural Sciences. Butterball, LLC.
  • Amy Yeiser, Animal Sciences. Center for Dairy Excellence.

2010 Internship Award Recipients

  • Kristen Annunziata, Animal Science
  • Sarah Caldwell, Agribusiness Management
  • Benjamin Cashell, Animal Science
  • John Frantz, Animal Sciences
  • Amy Hinkle, Horticulture
  • Melissa Miller, Horticulture
  • Sharon Ng, Animal Science
  • Khanh Nguyen, Agroecology
  • Derek Pruyne, Turfgrass Science
  • Kayla White, Agriculture Business Management