Posted: December 3, 2015

Eric Cowden Takes the lead as the Ag Alumni Society's new president.

Eric Cowden, '03 Ag Sci, was selected as the new president of the Ag Alumni Society on July 1, 2015. Cowden works as community outreach manager for the Marcellus Shale Coalition, a 300-member organization committed to the responsible development of natural gas.

In his position with the coalition, Cowden focuses on agricultural and conservation communities, leading the 200-person speaker's bureau and managing collateral materials. He also serves as executive editor of MQ, the coalition's 13,000 copy circulation magazine.

Cowden, of Prosperity, Pennsylvania, is highly involved in his community, the natural gas industry, and Pennsylvania agriculture. Prior to his work at the Marcellus Shale Coalition, he served as a regional director with the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, where he managed an office of over 120 employees and administered a $4.4 million Fair Fund budget. He has been awarded an Honorary American FFA degree, as well as the Outstanding Cooperation Award by the National Association of Agricultural Educators in 2013. Pennsylvania Business Central named him one of their “Foremost Under 40."

Cowden is an active volunteer, acting as the treasurer for the Pennsylvania FFA Foundation, a scholarship committee member of the Pennsylvania Farm Show Scholarship Foundation, and participating in the Chancel Choir at Upper Ten Mile Presbyterian Church. An avid musician, he also plays music and leads songs for the Pennsylvania Farm Show church service each year.

As president, Cowden will help to promote the alumni society's mission to connect, serve, and recognize alumni, students, and faculty by fostering the relationships, commitment, and pride that characterize our college.

Giving back means different things for alumni.  For some it's speaking to a class or mentoring a student. Others choose to support an internship or provide financial support to students. One other way some decide to give back is to serve on the Ag Alumni Society Board.

Additional New Officers

miller-boyle.jpgPresident-Elect, Danadee Miller-Boyle
'84 Ag Science
County Executive Director, USDA Farm Service Agency

Lisa KirbyFinancial Secretary, Lisa Kirby
'10 Agribusiness Management
AgroBusiness Division
Field Manager, Westfield Insurance

Mike FlinchbaughMike Flinchbaugh
'02 Agribusiness Management
Owner, Fruit Production and Financial Manager
R&S Flinchbaugh, LLC

norman.jpgDuane Norman
'64, '67 Dairy Science
Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding
Research Leader (retired), Animal Improvement Lab, USDA

yeiser-stepp.jpgKristin Shust
'10 Horticulture
Field Representative
Berger Peat Moss

Nominate Now

The Ag Alumni Society nominating committee seeks input for potential candidates.

To make a nomination, simply complete a short online form. The nominating committee will follow up with each potential candidate to talk about the role of a board member and the role of a committee member to determine interest and next steps.

The process is anonymous, so please feel free to nominate yourself or someone you think will make a good candidate.

We look forward to your suggestions!