Academic Department Leadership

An aerial view of north University Park campus.

The college has reached a milestone in the strategic restructuring of its academic departments. After deliberation and consultation with faculty and staff, Interim Dean Christ announced the department chairs that will help lead the college to meet new demands.

Working with the dean’s group, these leaders will strive to take the college to the next level of scholarship, preparing new generations of students and serving citizens, communities, and industry stakeholders through its extension activities.

Agricultural and Biological Engineering: 

Paul Heinemann

Agricultural Economics, Sociology, and Education:

Ann Tickamyer

Animal Science: 

Terry Etherton

Ecosystem Science and Management:

Mike Messina


Gary Felton

Food Science:

Bob Roberts (Interim) 

Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology:

Fred Gildow

Plant Science: 

Rich Marini

Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences: 

Mary Kennett