During the 2011-2012 Academic year, the Faculty Awards committee, chaired by Dr. Mary Kennett, completed the following:

  • Reviewed nominations for the Schreyer Teaching Awards (including the Atherton, Eisenhower, and Alumni Teaching Fellow Awards)
  • Reviewed nominations for the NACTA, Community of Teaching Excellence, and Shellenberger awards

No reviews were needed for the Faculty Scholar Medal or the USDA National Awards Program for Excellence in College and University Teaching in the Food and Agricultural Sciences due to an insufficient number of nominations.

The committee encourages Departments to submit nominations for each award. Also, perhaps the Promotion and Tenure process could include a screening protocol for potential award nominees.

Respectfully submitted:

John Ewing
Kathleen Brown
Nikki Brown (current chair)
Mary Kennett (2011-2012 chair)