Horan and Shortle 2012 Boggess Award Winners

Posted: August 21, 2012

Rick Horan, Michigan State and Jim Shortle, Penn State are the 2012 Boggess Award Winners for their paper, Economic and Ecological Rules for Water Quality Trading which was published in the February 2011 issue of JAWRA.

The American Water Resources Association has announced the winners of the 2012 Boggess Award:

Richard D. Horan and James S. Shortle, for their paper in the February 2011 JAWRA, Economic and Ecological Rules for Water Quality Trading. The authors are from Michigan State and Penn State, respectively.

This paper was part of a Featured Collection on Water Quality Trading. The paper argues the need for a strong degree of technical and regulatory skill to manage an effective trading program.

The William R. Boggess Award is given to the author or authors of the paper, published in the Journal of the American Water Resources Association during the preceding year, that best describes, delineates, or analyzes a major problem or aspect of water resources from either a theoretical, applied, or philosophical standpoint. Established in 1973, the Award honors William R. “Randy” Boggess, a member of AWRA, one of the first Directors, and a former President of the Association, who has also made significant contributions to AWRA as an Editor of JAWRA.

Founded in 1964, the American Water Resources Association is a non-profit professional association dedicated to the advancement of men and women in water resources management, research, and education. AWRA’s membership is multidisciplinary; its diversity is its hallmark. It is the professional home of a wide variety of water resources experts including engineers, educators, foresters, biologists, ecologists, geographers, managers, regulators, hydrologists and attorneys.